Now, I’m pretty sure that the AirTag will tell me when it needs its battery replaced, but I’m the sort of person who’d much rather deal with this on my own terms than wait for the battery to get to the point it’s dead, and then I go and lose my keys. You can check the state of your AirTag’s battery by going into the Find My app on your iPhone or iPad, tapping on Items, finding your tag and tapping on it. Tapping on the battery icon also shows you the tag’s serial number and firmware version. And replacing the battery in the AirTag is easy. So easy you can do it in a coffee shop while you have a cup of your favorite wake-up juice. I don’t want a cheapo battery to spew out its gut inside my $29 AirTag. OK. So, you’ve got the battery. Next up is opening the AirTag. I squeeze it between my fingers and thumbs and rotate the stainless steel back anti-clockwise. It can be a bit tricky, especially if the tag is a bit slippery (giving it a wipe with a lens cleaner can help here). Remove the old battery. Dispose of it safely. Insert new battery (note orientation with + on top). You should hear a chirp coming from the AirTag. If not, remove and change its orientation until you do. Replace the cover by aligning the three prongs on the cover, gently squeezing the two halves together, and rotating the stainless steel cover clockwise until it locks into place. You’re done! In the Find My app, you can check if the battery status has changed to confirm you replaced the battery correctly and the battery is good. Time for a second coffee as a reward!