That’s the idea behind this list. Quality tools and gadgets that do the job and will last. Everything – from the label printer to the utility knife – has been tested for months under real-world conditions. For every product on the list, dozens didn’t make the cut.  I also like functionality. For example, the Brother label printer and the Firewalla firewall box are absolutely packed with features – I’m still finding new features in both! Another motto that I’ve found applicable when building an office or workshop is: “A place for everything and everything in its place.”  While I’m not going to cover tool and equipment storage here, let me tell you that having everything piled on benches and boxes isn’t productive. It seems to work for some, but for most – myself included – it quickly turns into a frustrating siege of trying to find what you need. Be organized! It saves time and frustration! Not only does this labeler print amazing quality laminated labels, but it can alsoprint a variety of different styles of labels, and you can even get special shrink wrap tape labels. A brilliant bit of kit! It comes in two flavors, Blue and Red, offering 500 Mbit and 100Mbit processing power, respectively. For a small box, Firewalla is packed with features:

Protects your devices from cyberattacksAdvanced insights into your networkSafeguards your personal and business dataDynamic content filteringMonitor and control internet usageBlocks unwanted adsBuild-in VPN server and VPN Client

Over the past few months, this has prevented my keys or lightweight multitools from falling out of my pocket or even going down a drain. Very robust. They’re not cheap but are infinitely better than the cheaper quick-release keyrings I’ve tried. I actually trust this one with my keys! It’s also great for heavier items like multitools.  I’ve now bought a dozen of these. They’re that good! The MagSafe connectors from days gone by saved me hundreds, if not thousands, of dollars in repairs and new MacBooks by preventing me from dragging my expensive yet fragile laptop to the ground through my occasional chimp-like clumsiness. But my MagSafe MacBooks became old and I eventually had to upgrade to a newer model featuring USB-C connectors. Fragile USB-C connectors. USB-C connectors that cling on enough to allow my MacBook to be pulled off a table and placed into Isaac Newton’s cold, indifferent hands. Then a reader pointed me in the direction of the 20-pin USB-C magnetic breakaway connector. I was skeptical, not only because they were sold under no-name branding, but also because of the price. $25 seemed cheap. But they are great. Fantastic. I have accumulated quite a collection, and they are perfect not only for MacBooks but any gadget with a USB-C port. The magnet is strong enough to keep the two parts of the connector snugly attached, yet will give way if the cable is tugged hard enough to endanger the attached device. I recently discovered that there is also a version with a USB-C cable attached if you want a more compact solution. The adapter supports 100W (20V/5A) charging, which makes it perfect for all MacBooks and other laptops and USB-C devices, and even supports up to 10Gbps data transfer and 4K@60Hz video output. Until Apple brings back MagSafe, I’ll be using these! Highly recommended! Capacity seems good (not inflated like some sellers do), and they are durable, and the perfect solution for those devices that need an AA battery (the company also makes AAA and D-cell versions, which are equally good). A great little oscilloscope that is handy for diagnosing problems with low-voltage electrical gadgets. There are better out there, but they’ll cost you. Bear in mind that the documentation for these units is pretty poor, so getting to know how to use it can be a bit of an adventure – Google is your friend – but once you have the basics down, it is pretty straightforward. A staple of my repair kit.  It also comes with a screwdriver for tuning, detailed instructions for tuning the knife, spare screws, and a Band-Aid for that inevitable cut that you will likely get using it. I also bought ceramic blades. While these are prone to chipping and snapping, used property they will outlast steel blades for general cutting.