I’m both blessed and cursed in that I get the chance to try out a lot of different gadgets and tech. On the plus side, I find some really cool things that boost my productivity and let me get more work done, while the downside is that my workflow is constantly morphing and changing (I do find that this keeps me on my toes!).

What’s in this list?

There’s a lot here – from routers that will offer you the best Wi-Fi possible, a mobile router, earphones, a power bank, and gadgets to help you find lost keys and wallets, and items to help secure your digital empire. The unit features a single USB-C port capable of 60W input and output, a pair of USB-A ports good for an array of outputs (QC 3.0,5V/3A,9V/2A,12V/1.5A), a barrel-port adaptor for charging as well as 5V - 60V/150W output, and a 120W AC output port (the unit comes with a “universal” adaptor).

The headband is comfortable and fits my huge head.The twin-LED lights powered by two AAA batteries are bright, and I can pan it left and right, and angle it downwards, depending on what I’m doing.It’s got three lenses (a fixed 1.9x stereo lens, a drop-down 1.9x stereo lens, and a 4.5x loupe) allowing for four magnifications up to 8.3x.The lenses are high quality and distortion-free.It’s lightweight (which initially makes it feel cheap) but durable.

And for when the signal is a bit poor, I can attach an external 3G/4G antenna and give the signal a bit of a helping hand. At the core of the Leatherman Free P4 are 21 essential tools, from a knife to pliers to scissors, but it features better ergonomics (the multitool feels much better in the hand, especially for extended use), it has a new magnetic catch allowing single-handed access to the pliers and a new thumb-operated mechanism for accessing the myriad of tools – which means no more broken fingernails! Enter the Clip and Carry Kydex Multitool Sheath. The one here is for the new Leatherman Free P4, but it makes them for a wide array of multitools, in a range of colors (I chose orange because it’s the one I’m least likely to lose). A clip allows the holster to be mounted on a belt or other clothing, and the Kydex keeps the tool firmly in place until it is needed for action. This is not only great for keys, bit also small tools, flashlights, and other things you don’t wasnt to drop and lose. Also has the added advantage that I can use a Tile to find my lost iPhone! I love this wallet because I no longer randomly throw junk into my wallet. And the money clip on the back is perfect for banknotes and is far quicker and more convenient to use than a traditional folding wallet. I’ve upgraded my wallet by changing the paracord for orange core with a reflective strip, and added a glow patch. This single power bank can keep everything else I carry with me – from my MacBook to my earbuds – charged up and ready for work (or play). While I like them – a lot – I also have some reservations. But these are the best earbuds you can currently buy. The YubiKey 5 NFC is FIDO -ertified and works with Google Chrome and any FIDO-compliant application on Windows, MacOS, or Linux. YubiKeys have allowed me to secure my various online accounts, such as Gmail, Facebook, Dropbox, LastPass, and such, eliminating the need for clumsy and potentially insecure SMS-based two-factor verification.  The Maker Knife comes with a screwdriver for tuning, detailed instructions for tuning the knife, spare screws, and a Band-Aid for that inevitable cut that you will likely get using it. I also bought ceramic blades. While these are prone to chipping and snapping, used property they will outlast steel blades for general cutting. Fragile USB-C connectors. USB-C connectors that cling on enough to allow my MacBook to be pulled off a table and placed into Isaac Newton’s cold, indifferent hands. I have accumulated quite a collection of these, and they are perfect not only for MacBooks but any gadget with a USB-C port. The magnet is strong enough to keep the two parts of the connector snugly attached, yet will give way if the cable is tugged hard enough to endanger the attached device. I recently discovered that there is also a version with a USB-C cable attached if you want a more compact solution. The adapter supports 100W (20V/5A) charging, which makes it perfect for all MacBooks and other laptops and USB-C devices, and even supports up to 10Gbps data transfer and 4K@60Hz video output. There are also tools to help you fix things around your office. I don’t know about you, but this seems to be part of life, especially when working from home.

How are these gadgets picked?

The main criteria here is reliability and long-term performance. It’s easy to take a gadget out of the box, look at it, say it feels nice, and then say it’s a winner. Everything listed here has been put through weeks, if not months, or hard use. It’s a totally different thing to live and work with something, day-in day-out, for weeks. That’s when you really discover how well something performs.

Buy cheap, buy twice

While price isn’t the main thing that I’m considering here (there’s no end of expensive rubbish out there), I have had the old phrase “buy cheap, buy twice” come to life to bite me on a number of occasions Quality costs money. There’s no way around that. While there might be a cheaper version of something on offer, there’s a reason it’s cheap and usually that reason is not a good thing for you in the long run. It’s a balance of function, durability, and price.